48th Annual Goldwater Cup Matches Scheduled for December 1-2 at Mesa Country Club

The Southwest Section PGA and the Arizona Golf Association (AGA) announced today that the two organizations will compete in the 48th Goldwater Cup Matches from December 1-2 at Mesa Country Club.

The event is named for the late Bob Goldwater Sr., a former state amateur champion and Arizona Golf Hall of Famer who is known as father of the Phoenix (FBR) Open.

The annual matches promote friendly competition and camaraderie between the two groups, but also a high-level of competition between top amateur golfers representing the AGA and club professionals from the Southwest Section of the PGA.

After winning 14.5 to 9.5 last year in the 47th Annual Goldwater Cup Matches at Phoenix Country Club, the SWSPGA’s club professionals are riding a 24-year winning streak. They lead the overall series 34-13. Meanwhile, the club pro’s in the senior division hold a 21-10-3 lead in the Goldwater Cup matches.

First-day matches are Foursome matches for the Regular division in the morning, with Four-Ball matches for the both divisions in the afternoon. Day two consist of Singles matches for both divisions.

The matches began in 1960 with the amateurs holding a decided advantage over the club pros, but since the early 1980’s, the SWSPGA team has been dominant.

This year the Southwest Section PGA regular division team features Dean Vomacka, Glen Griffith, Scott Frisch, Bob Blean Jeff Yurkiewicz, Chris Endres, Chris Dompier, Blayne Hobbs, Jason Magee, Ben Kreger, Greg Avant and Tony Rohlik.

The senior division team consists of Jon Stanley, Michael Wright, Ralph West,  David Kluver, Bob Mann, Michael Franko, Greg Harmon, Jon Chaffee, Larry Mackin, Jay Friedman, Bob Pancratz and Will Frantz.

The AGA’s regular division team will be captained by Michael Wog II. He’ll be joined by Paul Welle, Chris Kessler, Jacob Golembiewski, Rob McIver, Pat Geare, Erik Nielsen, Nick Carlson, Tommy Hays, Dalen Linnerson, Rusty Brown and Camron Howell.

The AGA’s senior division team includes Tom Beach (captain), Cyrus Whitney, Jerry Loftis, Tom Sweigart, Larry Brasch, Jay Anderson, Steven Welker, Steve Dallas, Frank Ellenburg, Tom White, Duke DeBernardi and Russ Hatfield.

For more information call the Southwest Section PGA Office at (480) 443-9002.


Please Share