Club Pros continue winning streak for the 2nd year in a row at the 51st Annual Goldwater Cup matches

It was nip and tuck and not the cosmetic type at the 51st Annual Goldwater Cup matches at the Desert Forest Golf Club in goldwatercup.jpgScottsdale, AZ as the Southwest Section of the PGA club professionals won for the 2nd year in a row 18 ½ - 11 ½ over the Top ranked Amateurs from the Arizona Golf Association.

With perfect golf weather and the golf course in spectacular tournament shape, both Professionals and Amateurs played great competitive golf!

The club professionals prevailed in the senior division as well, winning 16-14, including 3 ½ - 2 ½ in the four ball matches.  The senior professionals lead the series 25-10-3

Paired with the senior division players for the 3rd year in a row, the Club professionals won the mixed four ball matches 6 ½ - 5 ½ on the first day, they beat the amateurs in the afternoon foursome matches 4 ½ - 1 ½.

Members of the winning Open division team included; Greg Avant, Jeff Yurkiewicz, Blayne Hobbs, Marty Jertson, Don Littrel, Michael Hopper, Dennis Downs, Brandon Smith, Rich Elias, Joe Penaflor, Chris Dompier and Paul Nolen.

Mike Malaska, 2011 National PGA teacher of the year, lead the senior division to victory.  Malaksa's teammates included; Jon Chaffee, Randy Wittig, Earl Svenningsen, Jon Stanley, Terry Carlson, Mike Franko, Dave Simm, Greg Ellis, Greg Harmon, Bob Pancratz and Will Frantz. 

This historic event is named for the late Bob Goldwater SR., a former state amateur champion and Arizona golf hall of fame who is know as the father of the Phoenix (Waste Management) Open. 


Please Share