Southwest Section PGA Names Annual Special Award Recipients

Southwest Section PGA Names Annual Special Award RecipientsThe Southwest Section PGA recently announced its 2008 Special Award Winners at its annual meeting.

Matthew Grobe of Dragon Ridge Golf Club in Las Vegas won the Bill Strausbaugh Award, which recognizes PGA Professionals “who by their day-to-day efforts have distinguished themselves by mentoring their fellow PGA Professionals in improving their employment situations and through service to the community.”

Geoffrey Huston of Arizona State’s PGM Program won the Horton Smith Award, which recognizes the PGA Professional who is the model educator of PGA Golf Professionals. The award is designed to give special recognition to an individual PGA Professional for outstanding and continuing contributions to professional education.

Joseph Kelly of Highland Falls Golf Course in Las Vegas won the Junior Golf Leader Award given to a professional who is a leader in junior golf and who reflects the ideals of those who work with youth. Kelly demonstrated involvement in the promotion and development of junior golf at the club level, supported national junior golf programs and had a proven interest, concern and ability to provide opportunities and experience for junior to learn and play golf.

Kent Chase of the Kent Chase Golf Academy in Phoenix was named Teacher of the Year, an award that is designed to recognize a PGA Professional who is an outstanding teacher of golf among the ranks of PGA membership. This award is based on a professional’s overall performance in teaching; unusual, innovative and special teaching programs initiated or implemented; articles published; as well as outstanding golfers the professional has instructed.

Greg Leicht, director of golf Vistal Golf Club in Phoenix was given the President’s Plaque, which is designed to recognize a PGA Professional for extraordinary and exemplary contributions and achievements in the area of player development. This award considers the PGA Professional’s growth of the game leadership commitment at the Section level and the impact made at the facility.

Other award winners were Cave Creek’s Lilly Jane Bartell and Tempe’s Trey Kaahanui, both of whom won Junior Player of the Year honors; Joseph Jones of ASU Karsten, Robert Bartley of Camelback Golf Club, and Terry Carlson of Estancia Club won Merchandiser of the Year in public, resort and private categories, respectively.

Finally, Bill Grove, general manager of TPC Scottsdale, was named PGA Golf Professional of the Year, one of the highest honors the Association can bestow on a working club professional whose total contributions to the game best exemplify the complete PGA Professional. The award embraces a wide range of services executed by the club professional.

Southwest Section PGA 2008 Annual Award Winners

Junior Player of the Year (Arch Watkins Award) -- Lilly Jane Bartell
Junior Player of the Year (Bill Farkas Award) -- Trey Kaahanui
President’s Plaque -- Greg Leicht (Vistal Golf Club)
Horton Smith Award ---- Geoffrey Huston (ASU PGM Program)
Junior Golf Leader --- Joseph Kelly (Highland Falls Golf Course)
Bill Strausbaugh Award --- Matthew Grobe (Dragon Ridge Golf Club)
Merchandiser of the Year (Public)--- Joseph Jones (ASU Karsten Golf Course)
Merchandiser of the Year (Resort) ---- Robert Bartley (Camelback Golf Club
Merchandiser of the Year (Private) ---- Terry Carlson (The Estancia Club)
Teacher of the Year --- Kent Chase (Kent Chase Golf Academy)
Professional of the Year ---- William Grove (TPC Scottsdale)

For more information call the Southwest Section PGA Office at (480) 443-9002.


Please Share