Southern Texas PGA Foundation makes 2012 scholarship applications available

The Southern Texas PGA Foundation, which has distributed 176 scholarships with a total value of $463,100 since 1999, has made applications for its 2012 scholarships available. At least 16 scholarships with a total value of $46.000 will be disbursed in 2011.

Applications for the scholarships can be secured by visiting the "Scholarships" page of the
  "Foundation" section of the STPGA web site at, or by stopping by the STPGA office at Cypresswood Golf Club in Spring (21604 Cypresswood Dr., Spring, TX 77373).

Applications for all 2012 STPGA Foundation scholarships must be submitted to the STPGA office by Apr. 13, 2012, to be considered- winners will be announced on May 23, 2012.


The scholarships to be awarded by the STPGA Foundation in 2012 (as of Feb. 13, 2012) include:

Three Tommy Aycock Scholarships, named after the late PGA Professional who won the STPGA Section Championship six times, will be presented in 2012. Valued at $1,000 each, the Tommy Aycock scholarships will be awarded to students residing in the seven-county area (Nueces, San Patricio, Aransas, Kleberg, Wells, Bee and Refugio counties) around which Aycock spent much of his career.

A pair of George Hannon Scholarships, valued at $2,500, will be presented to students whose primary residence lies with the Austin area (Travis County and the counties contiguous to Travis County). The George Hannon Scholarships are named for the former University of Texas golf coach who served as the president of the Southern Texas PGA in 1972-73 and was twice honored as the STPGA Golf Professional of the Year. Hannon is a member of the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame.

Provided by the Harmon Family Foundation, Dick Harmon Scholarships honor the career and memory of one of the most respected PGA Professionals and golf instructors in the country. Dick Harmon was known throughout the world of golf for his expertise and professionalism, and for his dedication to junior golf. Two Dick Harmon Scholarships, valued at $7,500 each, will be awarded to students in 2012. The recipients much reside in Harris County or any of its contiguous counties.

Valued at $3,000, the Hardy Loudermilk Scholarship is available to students residing in the Texas counties of Bexar, Kendall, Comal, Guadalupe, Atascosa, Medina, Wilson or Bandera. It is named for the long-time head golf professional at San Antonio's Oak Hills Country Club. Mr. Loudermilk, the first president of the Southern Texas PGA following the late 1960s division of the PGA of America's former Texas Section, was the 1968 National PGA Golf Professional of the Year.

Three Lauren Johnson Foundation Scholarships, valued at $2,000 each, will be awarded in 2012. All recipients must be graduating seniors within the Victoria Independent School District. The Lauren Johnson Foundation and scholarships were created to honor the memory of a young golfer who passed away in an automobile accident,

The Ginny Termeer Scholarship was created in 2008 to honor the life and memory of the mother of Steve Termeer, the head golf professional at The University of Texas Golf Club in Austin. Mrs. Termeer was a chemistry teacher in Conroe for more than 20 years and was a dedicated golfer. She was a former president of the Women's Golf Association at Walden on Lake Conroe Golf Club in Montgomery and a volunteer scorer at the Houston Open, the PGA Tour Championship and numerous other tournaments. Two Ginny Termeer Scholarships, valued at $1,000 each, will be awarded to junior golfers residing in Montgomery County or any contiguous county.

The Bill Sitton Sr. Scholarship, valued at $6,000 (renewable annually; $1,500 per year for four years), is available to all STPGA Foundation scholarship applicants. It was created in 2008 to "assist aspiring college-bound students with furthering their educations." Billy Sitton Jr. of International Pro-Ams, Inc.,, said the scholarship honors "a hard-working guy who enjoyed golf and introduced me to it."

The Warren Smith Scholarship was created in 2003 by members of Oak Hills Country Club in San Antonio in honor of a former head golf professional at that club. Valued at $2,000, the scholarship is available to a student who resides in Bexar, Kendall, Comal, Guadalupe, Atascosa, Medina, Wilson or Bandera County. The recipient must have a playing background in golf.

The newly-created Robert N. Lyons Scholarship, valued at $1,000 and
targeted at applicants that reside in Harris, Montgomery, Walker, Fort Bend, Brazoria, Galveston, Chambers, Liberty or Waller counties, honors the grandfather of Southern Texas PGA Professional Ricky Lyons. A World War II veteran, the elder Lyons retired to Elkins Lake Country Club in 1982 and lost a battle with Parkinson's Disease in 2001. He was actively involved in Elkins Lake's Men's Golf Association throughout his retirement.

To be eligible for scholarship consideration, applicants must reside within southern Texas. Applicants must have completed high school or be enrolled in a certified college or university by Sept. 1, 2012. A grade point average of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale is also a requirement, as is the ability to demonstrate plans for enrollment as a full-time student at an accredited two-year or four-year institution within the United States.

For additional information, please visit the "Scholarships" page of the
  "Foundation" section of the STPGA web site (



Please Share