Texas Golf Hall of Fame Announces Election of 2011 Class of Inductees

PGA Championship winner, Austin's Rich Beem, PGA Tour teachers Dallas' Randy Smith and Houston's Jim Hardy along with U.S. Men and Women's Open and annual PGA Tour site Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth are among the 2011 Texas Golf Hall of Fame inductees.

Located at the historic Brackenridge Park Golf Course in San Antonio, The Texas Golf Hall of Fame elected its class of inductees after more than 40 nominations in six categories. They will be inducted at a gala and dinner on October 10, 2011 at the San Antonio Country Club.

"I've been fortunate to win multiple PGA Tour events and a PGA Championship, but I can't think of a nicer or more meaningful honor than to be inducted into the Texas Golf Hall of Fame," Beem said. "It's very special to be honored with so many of my golf heroes." Few will forget Beem defeating Tiger Woods in the 2002 PGA Championship at Hazeltine National. He also won two other PGA Tour events

Other inductees include Don Addington of Dallas in the Amateur Category. Addington began his career winning the National Caddy Championship in 1948, he was a state champion in high school, and played in several U.S. Amateur championships. He was the 1956 Air Force Champion, the Four States Amateur Champion, the six-time Texas Senior Championship, and has twice won the World Father-Son Championship with his son Rob, the executive director of the Texas Golf Association.

Ms. Marty Leonard of Ft. Worth was inducted for Distinguished Service. She is the daughter of Colonial’s founder, Marvin Leonard, an accomplished golfer, a former USGA senior committee member and award-winning volunteer and board member of many golf and other organizations and operates her own course, Starr Hollow, outside of Fort Worth. In November, she will receive the Texas Golf Association Foundation’s annual award, also for distinguished service.

"Texas golf has been special to me since my dad took me out to my first Lone Star course as a young child. This would make him very happy, as it does me," Leonard said.

Jim Hardy and Randy Smith were elected in the Club Professional category. Hardy has been teaching for over 40 years, has been a Golf Magazine contributor, an analyst for NBC and ESPN and is an accomplished author. He has coached dozens of well-known PGA Tour and LPGA players. Smith is the all-time PGA of America leader in national awards and was inducted into the PGA of America’s Hall of Fame in 2002. A coach to Justin Leonard and Harrison Frazer, Smith has mentored many amateur players, including 13 NCAA All-Americans and over 100 who have received golf scholarships.

"Having grown up in West Texas and worked in the state my entire life, I can think of no higher honor than to be inducted," Smith said. "I'm sure I'm not worthy of this honor."

Colonial Country Club was elected to the Texas Registry of Historic Golf Courses during Colonial’s 75th anniversary year. The home-course of Ben Hogan and the Ben Hogan Exhibit, Colonial hosted the U.S. Open in 1941, the 1975 Tournament Players Championship, the 1991 Women’s U.S. Open and The Colonial Invitational is the second oldest event on the PGA Tour to be located at the same venue.

The Pioneer Category welcomes Ralph Plummer, a noted architect, and San Antonio’s four-star General Bernard Schriever – both deceased. Plummer was a prolific golf course architect who had a hand in nearly 90 courses, including all three Texas courses where the U.S. Open has been played (Colonial in 1941, Northwood in 1952 and Champions in 1969).

Schriever grew-up in a small house on hole #12 at Brackenridge Pack. He and brother, Gerhardt, were best friends with young Tod Menefee and the Schriever’s mother opened a small but popular sandwich stand for the golfers in the back yard. Bernard went on to win the State Junior and the San Antonio City Championship twice. He captained the Texas A&M golf team for two years before entering the Army. He is most known as the architect for the Air Force’s space and missile

program, and managing the nuclear arsenal during the Cold War. In 2003, he was recognized with the military’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

“We are delighted with the 2011 class and I want to thank the Selection Committee for their efforts and diligent work”, said Buddy Cook, the Texas Golf Hall of Fame’s Board Chair.

The induction will take place on October 10, at the San Antonio Country Club. Earlier that day at Brackenridge Park Golf Course, the Texas Golf Hall of Fame’s “Walk of Fame” will be dedicated. Ticket information for the events, sponsorships and additional information about the Texas Golf Hall of Fame and Museum can be found at www.texasgolfhof.org.


Please Share