Entertaining Mix of 24 PGA TOUR Stars Prepare for Franklin Templeton Shootout

PGA Champion Keegan Bradley & Company Represent 15 PGA TOUR Wins in 2011

Franklin TempletonNAPLES, Fla. – Franklin Templeton Shootout Tournament host Greg Norman announced today the field for the 23rd edition of the event, which returns for the 11th consecutive year to Tiburón Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples, December 7-11.

The field for this year’s Franklin Templeton Shootout has enjoyed tremendous success this season. Twelve players have won a total of 15 titles so far. Nine of those individuals have won a total of 12 times on the PGA TOUR led by multiple winners Steve Stricker, Keegan Bradley and Webb Simpson. Three have earned titles on the Champions Tour. In addition, Rickie Fowler is the most recent winner with his victory on the OneAsia circuit.

“It has always been my intention to bring a good mix of players together for friendly competition and to enjoy each other’s company for a week,” said Norman. “We have accomplished that again this year. I predict another wonderful event for all involved including the fans and an international television audience.”

The 24 players will be paired into 12 two-man teams. Those pairings will be announced in a few weeks.

In addition to the numerous individual victories so far this year, the field has earned a total of 137 PGA TOUR wins plus numerous worldwide titles through the years. There are also six major championship winners playing who have a total of nine major wins to their credit.

That group is led by current PGA Champion Bradley who, in his first major championship appearance, won in Atlanta this summer. Other major champions include Norman, Mark Calcavecchia, Stewart Cink, Nick Price and Justin Leonard. Additionally, Fred Funk, winner of two Champions Tour majors returns as does multiple champion on both Tours Kenny Perry.

Five competitors, led by Stricker (No. 4), are among the top 30 in the Official World Golf Rankings. Simpson is No.12 followed by Fowler (No. 24), Bradley (No. 26) and Brandt Snedeker (No. 27).

Bradley is also a part of a youth movement that has been in the headlines much of this year. Several from that group will compete, including Simpson, who is vying for this year’s PGA TOUR money title; Fowler who picked up his first professional victory last week; Jhonattan Vegas who became the first Venezuelan to win on TOUR; Sean O’Hair and Brendan Steele also won this year.

Jason Dufner, who has five top-10 finishes this year, including his runner-up finish at the PGA Championship to Bradley, will compete. Players with PGA TOUR victories include Chris DiMarco, J.B. Holmes, Charles Howell III, Fredrik Jacobson, Jerry Kelly, Anthony Kim, Rory Sabbatini and Camilo Villegas.

In addition, eight players are currently ranked in the top 30 on the 2011 PGA TOUR Money list, and 10 are ranked among the top 30 on the TOUR’s Career Money list.

In total, eight players will be making their first appearance at the Franklin Templeton Shootout, seven of whom have won on the TOUR this year: Bradley, Jacobson, O’Hair, Simpson, Snedeker, Steele and Vegas.

Throughout its history, the Franklin Templeton Shootout has included many of golf’s greatest players. As a premier PGA TOUR post-season event, the Franklin Templeton Shootout will once again feature a modified alternate-shot format during the first round, a better ball Saturday and a final-round scramble. This year, Golf Channel will televise Friday and NBC will broadcast the weekend competition.

For the latest Franklin Templeton Shootout news and information, please visit the official tournament website at www.franklintempletonshootout.com.

Current Alphabetical List of Participating Professionals

Keegan Bradley
Charles Howell III
Nick Price
Mark Calcavecchia Fredrik Jacobson Rory Sabbatini
Stewart Cink Jerry Kelly Webb Simpson
Chris DiMarco Anthony Kim Brandt Snedeker
Jason Dufner Justin Leonard Steve Stricker
Rickie Fowler Greg Norman Brendan Steele
Fred Funk Sean O’Hair Jhonattan Vegas
J.B. Holmes Kenny Perry Camilo Villegas

Tickets for the Franklin Templeton Shootout are now on sale. Orders can be placed several ways - calling 888-66-SHARK, online at www.franklintempletonshootout.com or by visiting the PGA TOUR Superstore in Naples, Lumpy’s, Ft. Myers and The Golf Shop at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples.

About Franklin Templeton Investments

Franklin Resources, Inc. [NYSE:BEN] is a global investment management organization operating as Franklin Templeton Investments.  Franklin Templeton Investments provides global and domestic investment management solutions managed by its Franklin, Templeton, Mutual Series, Fiduciary Trust, Darby and Bissett investment teams.  The San Mateo, CA-based company has more than 60 years of investment experience and over $659 billion in assets under management as of September 30, 2011.  For more information, visit franklintempleton.com.

About Tiburón Golf Club

Tiburón Golf Club, a WCI managed facility, featuring two Greg Norman-designed golf courses, was carved from 800 acres of prime southwest Florida real estate. The courses reflect Norman’s appreciation for pristine natural settings and his passion for great golf. The Black and The Gold courses contain a combination of stacked sod-wall bunkers and tricky coquina waste bunkers. Certified as an Audubon Cooperative Sanctuary by Audubon International, Tiburón reflects a strong commitment to enhancing and protecting the natural resources.

About The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples

The AAA Five Diamond Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples is renowned for its outstanding service, incredible cuisine and luxurious accommodations with panoramic views. The 295-room Mediterranean-style resort, ranked as the top golf resort in Florida by Golf Digest (October 2009), is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburón. The Tiburón Golf Course complex is complete with the Rick Smith Golf Academy, recognized as one of the top academies in the country.

About Greg Norman Production Company

The Greg Norman Production Company (GNPC), a subsidiary of Great White Shark Enterprises, is devoted to event management and sports marketing. The GNPC is proud to operate the PGA TOUR-sanctioned Mayakoba Golf Classic and Franklin Templeton Shootout, GolfPARatodos, Three Friends: One Goal, Greg Norman Estates events and many other corporate and special events. The GNPC prides itself on producing events and marketing initiatives that not only reflect the discerning standards of its namesake, but of its clients as well.


Please Share