Fredrik Jacobson Withdraws Due to Injury

Franklin TempletonThree-time Champion Scott McCarron to Partner with Greg Norman

Naples, FL, December 2, 2011— Fredrik Jacobson, who was scheduled to play with tournament host Greg Norman, has withdrawn from next week’s Franklin Templeton Shootout due to a thumb injury.

Scott McCarron will replace Jacobson in the field and join Greg Norman as he attempts to become the first individual in tournament history to win four Franklin Templeton Shootout titles. McCarron won in 1997 with Bruce Lietzke and then captured back-to-back titles with Brad Faxon in 2000 and 2001.

Norman and McCarron were also a team in 2004 and finished tied for fourth. McCarron has not played in the Franklin Templeton Shootout since 2008.

The three-day competition, which includes Modified-Alternate shot, Better Ball and Scramble, begins next Friday. The event will be broadcast on Golf Channel Friday and on NBC during the weekend.

Tickets for the Franklin Templeton Shootout remain on sale. Orders can be placed several ways: by calling 888-66-SHARK, online at or by visiting the PGA TOUR Superstore in Naples, Lumpy’s in Ft. Myers or The Golf Shop at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples.


Please Share