Watson Chasing Another Major Title

Bubba Watson

Bubba Watson already has a green jacket. Now he’s after the Claret Jug. The 33-year-old southpaw has a plan for winning this week’s British Open at Royal Lytham & St. Annes. Instead of going for broke on every shot like normal, Watson plans on playing smart golf.

Watson’s best finish in a British Open came last year, when he tied for 30th at Royal St. George’s. He expects a much better result in this year’s tournament, which starts on Thursday.

“I feel good”, Watson said after his first practice round. “It’s a good golf course. There are a lot of long holes but a lot of bunkers as well. My goal this week is to play smart from the tee. I will hit a lot of irons off the tees. That’s not to say I won’t hit my irons into trouble but if I can keep them in the fairways I will have a better chance of missing the bunkers and hazards around the greens.”

How did Watson develop this strategy?

“I learned a lot about strategy watching Tiger (Woods) and Phil (Mickelson) at this year’s US Open,” Watson said. “I’m still learning (that aspect of the game). I watched how they went round Olympic and saw where I went wrong. I have to eliminate the big numbers and if that means laying back and having longer shots into the greens that’s what I will have to do. That’s my goal this week. If I can minimise the bad shots my chances will be good.”

Only one left-handed player, Bob Charles in 1963, has won the British Open at Royal Lytham & St. Annes. The last player to win both the Masters and the British Open in the same calendar year was Tiger Woods in 2005.

Note: All times Eastern Standard Time (EST).
Thursday, July 19: First Round Coverage 5:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m. on ESPN
Friday, July 20: Second Round Coverage 5:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m. on ESPN
Saturday, July 21: Third Round Coverage 7:00 a.m.-2:30 p.m. on ESPN
Sunday, July 22: Fourth Round Coverage 8:00-1:30 p.m. on ESPN 3:00-6:00 p.m. on ABC (tape delay)

At Royal Lytham & St. Annes, England; Purse: $7.75 million; Yardage: 7,060 yards; Par 70; All times EDT

1:19 a.m.-6:20 a.m. — Barry Lane, James Driscoll.
1:30 a.m.-6:31 a.m. — Richard Finch, Garth Mulroy.
1:41 a.m.-6:42 a.m. — Matthew Baldwin, Adilson Da Silva, Tadahiro Takayama.
1:52 a.m.-6:53 a.m. — Rafael Echenique, Kodai Ichihara, John Huh.
2:03 a.m.-7:04 a.m. — Sandy Lyle, Todd Hamilton, Mark Calcavecchia.
2:14 a.m.-7:15 a.m. — Alejandro Canizares, Jeev Milkha Singh, Greg Chalmers.
2:25 a.m.-7:26 a.m. — John Daly, Chad Campbell, Michael Hoey.
2:36 a.m.-7:37 a.m. — Thongchai Jaidee, Justin Leonard, Simon Khan.
2:47 a.m.-7:48 a.m. — David Duval, Raphael Jacquelin, Miguel Angel Jimenez.
2:58 a.m.-7:59 a.m. — Stephen Ames, Robert Rock, Kyle Stanley.
3:09 a.m.-8:10 a.m. — Stewart Cink, Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Johnson Wagner.
3:20 a.m.-8:21 a.m. — Jamie Donaldson, Bill Haas, Y.E. Yang.
3:31 a.m.-8:32 a.m. — Davis Love III, Tim Clark, Paul Lawrie.
3:42 a.m.-8:43 a.m. — Adam Scott, a-Alan Dunbar, Matt Kuchar.
3:58 a.m.-8:59 a.m. — Vijay Singh, Nick Watney, Ian Poulter.
4:09 a.m.-9:10 a.m. — Darren Clarke, Ernie Els, Zach Johnson.
4:20 a.m.-9:21 a.m. — Lee Westwood, Yoshinori Fujimoto, Bubba Watson.
4:31 a.m.-9:32 a.m. — Dustin Johnson, Graeme McDowell, Hiroyuki Fujita.
4:42 a.m.-9:43 a.m. — Tiger Woods, Justin Rose, Sergio Garcia.
4:53 a.m.-9:54 a.m. — Ryo Ishikawa, Martin Kaymer, Tom Watson.
5:04 a.m.-10:05 a.m. — Thomas Bjorn, Aaron Baddeley, Charl Schwartzel.
5:15 a.m.-10:16 a.m. — Jason Dufner, Martin Laird, Kevin Na.
5:26 a.m.-10:27 a.m. — James Morrison, Daniel Chopra, Joost Luiten.
5:37 a.m.-10:38 a.m. — Thorbjorn Olesen, Troy Matteson, Thomas Aiken.
5:48 a.m.-10:49 a.m. — Brad Kennedy, Mardan Mamat, Steven Tiley.
5:59 a.m.-11 a.m. — Warren Bennett, Aaron Townsend, Grant Veenstra.
6:10 a.m.-11:11 a.m. — Dale Whitnell, Sam Walker, Elliot Saltman.
6:31 a.m.-1:19 a.m. — Bob Estes, Steven O'Hara, Brendan Jones.
6:42 a.m.-1:30 a.m. — Juvic Pagunsan, Scott Pinckney, Nicholas Cullen.
6:53 a.m.-1:41 a.m. — Steven Alker, Lee Slattery, Russ Cochran.
7:04 a.m.-1:52 a.m. — Tom Lehman, Pablo Larrazabal, Greg Owen.
7:15 a.m.-2:03 a.m. — Marcel Siem, George Coetzee, Chez Reavie.
7:26 a.m.-2:14 a.m. — Marcus Fraser, Lucas Glover, Gregory Havret.
7:37 a.m.-2:25 a.m. — Charles Howell III, Paul Broadhurst, Richard Sterne.
7:48 a.m.-2:36 a.m. — Carl Pettersson, K.T. Kim, Gary Woodland.
7:59 a.m.-2:47 a.m. — Ben Curtis, Paul Casey, Trevor Immelman.
8:10 a.m.-2:58 a.m. — Robert Karlsson, Mark Wilson, Branden Grace.
8:21 a.m.-3:09 a.m. — Harris English, Simon Dyson, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano
8:32 a.m.-3:20 a.m. — Angel Cabrera, K.J. Choi, Ross Fisher.
8:43 a.m.-3:31 a.m. — Jonathan Byrd, Sang-moon Bae, Alvaro Quiros.
8:59 a.m.-3:42 a.m. — Nicolas Colsaerts, Hunter Mahan, John Senden.
9:10 a.m.-3:58 a.m. — Bo Van Pelt, Francesco Molinari, Toshinori Muto.
9:21 a.m.-4:09 a.m. — Rory McIlroy, Louis Oosthuizen, Keegan Bradley.
9:32 a.m.-4:20 a.m. — Rickie Fowler, Padraig Harrington, a-Manuel Trappel.
9:43 a.m.-4:31 a.m. — Luke Donald, Phil Mickelson, Geoff Ogilvy.
9:54 a.m.-4:42 a.m. — Steve Stricker, Toru Taniguchi, Anders Hansen.
10:05 a.m.-4:53 a.m. — Peter Hanson, Retief Goosen, Robert Allenby.
10:16 a.m.-5:04 a.m. — Jim Furyk, Koumei Oda, Fredrik Jacobson.
10:27 a.m.-5:15 a.m. — Marc Leishman, Brandt Snedeker, Alexander Noren.
10:38 a.m.-5:26 a.m. — Andres Romero, Jbe Kruger, Richie Ramsay.
10:49 a.m.-5:37 a.m. — Ted Potter Jr., Ian Keenan, Andrew Georgiou.
11 a.m.-5:48 a.m. — Troy Kelly, Morten Orum Madsen, Anirban Lahiri.
11:11 a.m.-5:59 a.m. — Prayad Marksaeng, Justin Hicks, Ashley Hall.


Please Share