Annual Rees Jones Collegiate Invitational To Hosts 12 teams

Senior Ben Greene of Duluth, Ga., will lead the defending champion Owls of Kennesaw State Universtity at the 2012 Rees Jones Collegiate Invitational men's golf tournament Oct. 1-2 at Haig Point Club on Daufuskie Island. The 54-hole event format will have 36 holes of play on Monday (Oct. 1) and 18 holes on Tuesday (Oct. 2).

Kennesaw State is one of the 12 teams announced for the 2012 field. Other teams in the fifth annual event include host school the University of South Carolina, Charleston Southern University, East Carolina University, Francis Marion University, Iowa State University, Liberty University, Presbyterian College, Tennessee Tech University, UNC-Charlotte, UNC-Wilmington and Winthrop Universtiy.

Kennesaw State has won each of the last two tournaments over the par 72, 7,380-yard layout at Haig Point. South Carolina finished second a year ago.

"We are proud to have been able to beat so many quality teams," said Kennesaw State head coach Jay Moseley. "We are never on anyone's favored list but we use that to our advantage and play with a chip on our shoulder. We know what we can do. And this is always our favorite tournament of the year, so we have good vibes coming to Haig Point."

Greene is the top returning finisher from a year ago. He took second place overall with a 3-over-par total of 219. Sophomore Sean Kelly of Staten Island, N.Y., was the top finisher for South Carolina as he finished third overall at 220.

"This event gives people in the Hilton Head area a chance to see some of the best college golfers in the country," said Jason Cherry, director of golf at Haig Point. "It is wonderful to see how the tournament has grown and how challenging the course can be for these great golfers."

Haig Point's signature golf course debuted at No. 28 in the country by Golf Digest and 68th in the world by Golf Magazine when it opened in 1986. It was re-modeled by the original architect Rees Jones in 2007.



Please Share