Southern Texas PGA Foundation Hands Out 19 Scholarships

STPGA Foundation ScholarshipsThe Southern Texas PGA Scholarship Committee has selected 19 students to receive a total of $65,000 in 2010 STPGA Foundation Scholarships.

The amount to be disbursed this year represents a record total for the STPGA Foundation Scholarship Program, which has distributed $414,100 in scholarship funds to 176 students since the program was restructured in 1999.

"The STPGA Foundation Scholarship Program is such a wonderful thing to be involved in," said Mark Steinbauer, chairman of the Southern Texas PGA Scholarship Committee. "It is great to see how many of our PGA families give back. It is also very rewarding to help someone along the way who needs a break to make the college experience better.

"Our program is one of the highest quality programs I have ever been involved with," added Steinbauer. "I can't tell you how proud I am to be involved in such a top-notched program. We can all be proud of the fact that we have helped someone along the way in life."

Southern Texas PGA Foundation scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of a number of criteria, including residence within southern Texas, status as full-time students, a minimum grade point average and financial need.

The 2010 Southern Texas PGA Foundation’s Scholarship recipients are listed below. For additional details, please visit the STPGA website at

2010 Southern Texas PGA Foundation Scholarships and Recipients

Tommy Aycock Scholarships

Named after a late Southern Texas PGA golf professional who won the STPGA Section Championship six times. Five Tommy Aycock Scholarships valued at $1,000 each were awarded to students residing in the Corpus Christi area. The recipients are:

• Madison DeSive, Corpus Christi
• Morgan DeSive, Corpus Christi
• Kyle Hendley, Refugio
• Stephen Litz, Corpus Christi
• Cory Miller, Corpus Christi
George Hannon Scholarships

George Hannon Scholarships are presented to students whose primary residence lies with the Austin area (Travis County and the counties contiguous to Travis County).

The George Hannon Scholarships are named for the former University of Texas golf coach who served as the president of the Southern Texas PGA in 1972-73 and was twice honored as the STPGA Golf Professional of the Year. Hannon is a member of the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame. This year, there are two recipients of George Hannon Scholarships, both valued at $10,000 over four years. They are:

• Michelle Hartenstein, Austin
• Andrew Shane Morris, Austin
Dick Harmon Scholarships

The newly-created Dick Harmon Scholarships are named for one of the most respected PGA Professionals and golf instructors in the country. Harmon, who passed away on February 10, 2006, was renowned as a junior golf ambassador.

Two Dick Harmon Scholarships, valued at $7,500 each, were awarded to applicants who reside in Harris County or any of the contiguous counties. These scholarships are made possible through a donation from the Harmon Family Foundation. The 2010 recipients are:

• Lindsey Anderson, Magnolia
• Andrea Brenckman, Willis
Lauren Johnson Scholarships

Named to honor a young golfer who passed away in an accident and funded through the work of Colony Creek Country Club members and head golf professional Greg Hughes, the Lauren Johnson Scholarships are awarded to students from Victoria and the surrounding area.

A fundraising tournament, co-sponsored by Testengeer, Inc. and Nabors Well Services, is one of the primary funding activities for the scholarships. The recipients for 2010 are:

• Kerry Culberson, Victoria ($1,500)
• Morgan Elgin, Port Lavaca ($2,500)
• Vernoika Johannsen, Victoria ($1,000)
• Eric Still, Victoria ($2,500)
Hardy Loudermilk Scholarship

Hardy Loudermilk was the head golf professional at Oak Hills Country Club in San Antonio for many years. He was named the 1968 PGA of America Golf Professional of the Year while at Oak Hills, and, in 1968 and 1969, he served as the first president of the Southern Texas PGA Section.

The $2,000 Hardy Loudermilk Scholarship is presented to a deserving student who resides in Bexar County or one of the seven counties contiguous to Bexar County. The recipient for 2010 is:

• Parker Hensley, San Antonio
Todd Menefee Scholarships

The Todd Menefee Scholarships are named for a late member of the Southern Texas PGA. Menefee, a long-time head golf professional at San Antonio Country Club, expended considerable effort raising funds to create a junior golf program for San Antonio area youngsters.

The scholarship was created from funds arising from his work. The recipient of the $1,500 scholarships for 2010 is:

• Austin Pearce, Montgomery
Joe Moore Scholarship

The Joe Moore Scholarship, valued at $1,000, is available to all STPGA Foundation Scholarship applicants. It is named for and was created by a San Antonio golfer whose history includes two San Antonio Amateur Championships and a role on a late-1940s NCAA Championship team at Louisiana State University.

Moore, a member at San Antonio’s Woodlake Country Club, was the head golf professional at Lackland Air Force Base’s golf course when he retired in the 1980s and played on the PGA Tour for several years. The 2010 recipient is:

• Robert Gann, La Vernia
Bill Sitton Scholarship

The Bill Sitton Sr. Scholarship, valued at $10,000 over four years, is available to all STPGA Foundation scholarship applicants. It was created to “assist aspiring college-bound students with furthering their educations.” Billy Sitton Jr., the managing director of Club Corp’s international office, said the scholarship honors “a hard-working guy who enjoyed golf and introduced me to it.” The Bill Sitton Sr. Scholarship is available to all applicants. The 2010 recipient is:

• Stephen Litz, Corpus Christi
Ginny Termeer Scholarships

A devoted golfer and the mother of Steve Termeer, general manager and head golf professional at The University of Texas Golf Club, Ginny Termeer passed away unexpectedly in 2008. The former president of the Women’s Golf Association at Walden on Lake Conroe Country Club, she served as a scorer at the Shell Houston Open and the Tour Championship. She worked as a high school chemistry teacher in Conroe for over 20 years.

The Ginny Termeer Scholarships were created to honor her memory and are awarded to candidates residing in Montgomery Country or any contiguous county. The recipients of 2010 Ginny Termeer Scholarships are:

• Andrea Brenckman,Wilis ($500)
• J.T. Taylor, Conroe ($2,500)


Please Share