Texas Senior Open Returns to Victoria Country Club

The Texas Senior Open, presented by the Victoria Convention and Visitor’s Bureau, is returning to Victoria Country Club for the second year in a row and will be held Nov. 7-9.

The venue provided an excellent test for the 2011 championship, in which former PGA Tour professionals Dave Rummells, a resident of Kissimmee, Fla., and Mitch Adcock, playing out of Apopka, Fla., finished 54 holes tied at 9-under-par 207.

After Adcock’s birdie putt on the first hole of a sudden-death playoff lipped out, Rummells sank his putt for birdie, and the championship (and a $6,000 check for first place) was his.

Ron Schroeder of Montgomery, Texas, finished in third place at 8-under-pr 208, and hometown golfer Mike Spivey of Victoria took low amateur honors with a score of 227.

The 2012 championship will be preceded by the Texas Senior Open Pro-Am on Oct. 6.

Those eligible for the 2012 Texas Senior Open, presented by the Victoria Convention and Visitor’s Bureau, are all professionals and amateurs with a USGA Handicap Index not exceeding 8.4 as of Oct. 31, 2012 and who are aged 50 and above as of Nov. 6, 2012.

Entry fees into the 54-hole, stroke play championship event are $400 for professionals and $300 for amateurs. Professionals will compete for cash prizes and amateurs for merchandise certificates.

The Texas Senior Pro-Am will feature teams of one professional and four amateurs competing in a two best balls (one gross and one net) format at Victoria Country Club.

Entry fees for the Pro-Am are $250 each; professionals must be entered in the championship to be eligible for the Pro-Am. The first six professionals entering a complete team in the pro-am will receive exemptions into the championship field.

The Pro-Am entry fee includes green fees, cart fees, food and beverages during the Pro-Am and a post-play Awards Party and Dinner. The entry deadline for the Pro-Am is Oct. 4, 2011 (the field will be limited to the first 25 paid teams.

For more information (including entry information) about the 2012 Texas Senior Open, presented by the Victoria Convention and Visitor’s Bureau, and the Texas Senior Open Pro-Am, please call the Southern Texas PGA office at 832-442-2404 or visit the “Tournament Information” page of www.stpga.com. You may also call the Victoria Country Club golf shop at 361-575-6161.

Texas Senior Open Champions
Year    Champion
2011    Dave Rummels
2010    Greg Bruckner
2009    Joe Stansberry
2008    Danny Edwards
2007    Rick Karbowski
2006    Danny Edwards
2005    Chuck Moran
2004    David Lundstrom
2003    Rocky Thompson
2002    Mark Coward
2001     No Tournament
2000    Steve Veriato
1999    Mark Hayes
1998    John Grace
1997    Dwight Nevil


Please Share