Willow Fork's Plowman is New STGCSA President

Willy PlowmanWilly Plowman, golf course superintendent at Willow Fork Country Club in Katy, was elected President of the South Texas Golf Course Superintendents Association for 2010 during the chapter's annual meeting last month at Willow Fork.

Plowman, a 15-year member of the STGCSA, was first elected to the STGCSA Board of Directors in 2003 and has spent the past two years as the Chapter's Secretary/Treasurer and Vice-President.

"We have a great track record of continually improving our organization and I certainly intend to continue that tradition," said Plowman. "We've got some plans for 2010 and beyond that we believe will be beneficial to the association, but it will take the participation of our membership to make them work. We'll be calling on our members to work with the officers and Board members, and I hope they are ready to respond."

"A good example is attendance at our Monthly Meetings," Plowman said. "Only 40 members attended our Annual Meeting, and that number wasn't unusual for 2009. We need to reverse that trend, and we've already taken the step of changing our meeting schedule to try to accommodate more members. Another thing we'll do is seek a wider variety of topics and speakers for our meetings.

"We're trying to create new reasons to be involved and improve the perceived value of our meetings," added the new president. "If those efforts are successful, we'll be better able to achieve our short-term goals as well as prepare us for the longer term needs of our Chapter."

Joining Plowman in a new role is Wade Warms, CGCS, who was elected as vice president after serving as STGCSA secretary and treasurer in 2009.

Warms, the golf course superintendent at the Golf Club at Cinco Ranch in Katy, has been a member of the Chapter's Board of Directors for five years.

Mark Haven, Associate Director of Recreational Sports for Texas A&M Golf Course & Recreational Sports Intramural Fields in College Station, was elected to the secretary/treasurer position. Haven has been a Board member for four years.

Lee Gravett, president of the STGCSA in 2009, is now the Chapter's Immediate Past President.

In addition to electing new officers, attendees at the annual meeting also elected four members to the Board of Directors.

Sean Wilson, CGCS, golf course superintendent at The Club at Falcon Point in Katy, and Kevin Borowski, golf course superintendent at Houston Country Club, were elected to their second terms on the board, and Tom Werner, golf course superintendent for The Houstonian Golf and Country Club and ShadowHawk Golf Club in Richmond, was elected to the board for his first term.

Mark Baughman, golf sales manager for AMC Industries/Rainbird in Houston, was elected to his second term as an Affiliate Member of the Board of Directors.


Please Share