Angel Park Cardholder Earns $5000 For Hole-In-One At TaylorMade National Team Championships

Jerry Johnson earned $5,000 for his hole-in-one in the final round of the TaylorMade National Team Championship held at We-Ko-Pa Golf Club on Saturday, December 11 and Sunday, December 12, 2010. The event featured a number of hole-in-one contests during the two-day OB Sports signature event, and Johnson received the cash prize (from American Hole In One, and sponsored by TaylorMade and OB Sports) after holing out from 169 yards with a 7 iron on the par-3, 5th hole of the Saguaro Course. Johnson was recently presented with the check at his home course, Angel Park Golf Club in Las Vegas, by Ben Buck (Angel Park Team Captain), David Bogue (Angel Park General Manager) and Greg Brockelman (Angel Park Director of Golf).

Angel Park Cardholder Jerry Johnson receives his $5000 check from his Hole In One at the recent TaylorMade OB Sports National Team Championships. From Left To Right: Ben Buck (Angel Park Team Captain), Jerry Johnson, David Bogue (Angel Park General Manager) and Greg Brockelman (Angel Park Director of Golf)

“I have been playing golf for 45 years, and I estimate that I have made over 16,000 attempts on par 3s, and I finally hit one where I was aiming,” Stated Johnson. “I was so excited that my first hole-in-one happened in this national tournament, where it was worth $5000….If you gotta wait that long, this is the way to do it! Thank you again TaylorMade, American Hole in One and of course OB Sports!”

The event is the brainchild of the team at OB Sports Golf Management, who designed it to be another way to add value to the frequent-player programs at golf clubs throughout the U.S. under their management. In its current form – The TalorMade National Team Championship Presented by adidas Golf – each participating OB Sports-managed golf club (16 throughout the U.S.) fields an eight-person team (grouped together in four, two-person teams) made up of seven qualifiers from the club and the club’s golf professional. Daily prizes are awarded to the top three two-person teams from each flight three flights. In addition, a prize is awarded for the overall OB Sports Team Championship.

“Congrats Jerry, you picked the right hole on the right day to get your first ever ace!” Stated Kris Strauss, Vice President of Sales and Marketing for OB Sports. “Each year the event seems to yield some sort of drama during the competition, but when we deliver a $5,000 check to one of our loyal customers – that’s pretty hard to top.”

In the latest contest, team We-Ko-Pa leveraged their home-course advantage to capture the 2010 TaylorMade OB Sports National Team Championship, presented by adidas Golf. The winning team, who shot 207+199=406, was comprised of club professional Frank O’Connell along with We-Ko-Pass holders Ken Hatch, Joseph Mitchell, Joe Morrill, Fred Anschutz, Philip Donnelly, Joe Morrill, Gary Evans and Michael Friedman. First-round leaders from Tijeras Creek Golf Club shot 206+206=412 to finish in second place, followed by the team from Palm Valley Golf Club who shot 214+203=417 to finish third. The first round of the two-round competition was played on We-Ko-Pa’s Scott Miller-designed Cholla Course, and the final round was played on the Coore/Crenshaw-designed Saguaro Course.

“Congrats to Team We-Ko-Pa who played great over the past couple of days and closed strong with the low final round,” stated Strauss. “Also I’d like to take a moment to thank our sponsors –TaylorMade, adidas Golf, Ashworth and Imperial – who truly made this event memorable. Plus, I’d like to thank We-Ko-Pa Golf Club, Eagle Mountain Golf Club and Radisson Fort McDowell for being spectacular host venues!”

Participating golf clubs included We-Ko-Pa Golf Club in Fort McDowell, Ariz.; Longbow Golf Club in Mesa, Ariz.; Langdon Farms Golf Club in Aurora, Ore.; Eagle Mountain Golf Club in Fountain Hills, Ariz.; Centennial Golf Club in Medford, Ore.; Three Crowns Golf Club in Casper, Wyo.; Sandia Resort & Casino in Albuquerque, N.M.; Tijeras Creek Golf Club in Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.; Angel Park Golf Club in Las Vegas, Nev.; The Legacy Golf Club in Henderson, Nev.; High Meadow Ranch in Magnolia, Tex.; The Oaks Golf Club in Biloxi, Miss.; Palm Valley Golf Club in Goodyear, Ariz. and Ahwatukee Country Club/Duke Golf Club/Club West Golf Clubs in Phoenix, Ariz. The Title sponsor of the event is TaylorMade while the presenting sponsor is adidas. Other supporting sponsors include Ashworth Golf and Imperial headwear.

For more information on the 2010 TaylorMade OB Sports National Team Championship, Presented by adidas Golf, visit

About the Title Sponsor – TaylorMade
TaylorMade Golf has led the golf industry's technological revolution since the company was founded in 1979. TaylorMade metalwoods, irons and putters have been used to win hundreds of professional golf tournaments around the world. Currently, TaylorMade Golf boasts the #1 selling driver, R9 SuperTri, and more wins on worldwide tours (51) than any other brand. For additional information about TaylorMade Golf, please visit  

About the Presenting Sponsor – adidas Golf
adidas Golf creates high-performance, technology-infused golf apparel and footwear worn by hundreds of professional golfers around the world. The three-stripes of the adidas golf brand are the most visible on the PGA Tour. The current product line is highlighted by adiPURE and TOUR 360 4.0 footwear and FORMOTION® apparel. For additional information about adidas Golf, please visit  

About the Welcome Reception Sponsor – Ashworth Golf
Ashworth, which became a brand of the TaylorMade-adidas Golf Company in 2008, creates relaxed, lifestyle-oriented golf apparel synonymous with authenticity and quality. Steeped in heritage, Ashworth captures the soul of the game no matter where and how it is played. And provides a safe harbor for those who know who they truly are…even if only for a few fortunate hours. While others are fashion brands with a golf line, this is an authentic golf brand…inspired by fashion. This is who we are. This is Ashworth. For additional information about Ashworth Golf, please visit

About OB Sports
The clubs participating in the TaylorMade OB Sports National Team Championship are professionally managed by OB Sports Golf Management, a diversified, golf-oriented company with a long history of success. OB Sports currently manages 37 premier golf courses and country clubs throughout the United States. Known for its comprehensive and personalized services since 1972, OB Sports has become widely acclaimed as the leader in boutique-style golf course management. For more information about OB Sports Golf Management, visit, call (480) 948-1300, follow on Twitter at, become a Fan on Facebook at  or check out the OB Sports You Tube Channel at  

TaylorMade OB Sports National Team Championship, Presented by adidas Golf
Final Round Results, December 11, 2010
We-Ko-Pa Golf Club – Saguaro Course, Par 71

Team Results

1st - We-Ko-Pa GC – 207 + 199 = 406 (2010 TaylorMade OB Sports Team Champions)
2nd - Tijeras Creek GC – 206 + 206 = 412
3rd - Palm Valley GC – 214 + 203 = 417
4th - Legacy GC – 209 + 213 = 422
4th - Centennial GC 1 – 210 + 212 = 422 – Vince Domenzain’s Team
6th - Longbow GC – 212 + 211 = 423
7th - High Meadow Ranch GC 2 – 213 + 213 = 426 – Cody Spivey’s Team
8th - Angel Park GC – 215 + 212 = 427
8th - Sandia GC 1 – 218 + 209 = 427 – Matt Molloy’s Team
10th - Centennial GC 2 – 212 + 217 = 429 – Anthony Ulloa’s Team
11th - High Meadow Ranch GC 1 – 217 + 216 = 433 – Casey Wade’s Team
12th - Ahwatukee CC – 221 + 215 = 436
13th - Eagle Mountain GC – 216 + 222 = 438
14th - Sandia GC 2 – 222 +221 = 443 – Matt Long’s Team
15th - Langdon Farms GC – 223 + 221 = 444
16th - The Oaks GC – 223 + 226 = 449
17th - Three Crowns GC – 220 + 232 = 452



Please Share