A tradition of drama at No.18 in the MWO

Michigan PGA Women’s Open set to return to Crystal for a ninth year.

THOMPSONVILLE, MICH – Top women professional and amateur golfers from as close as Traverse City and as far away as Los Angeles, California are set to converge on Crystal Mountain’s signature Mountain Ridge course for the Michigan PGA Women’s Open, June 27-29.

The Michigan PGA Women’s Open boasts a field of players from across the nation including former champions Elaine Crosby, Suzanne Green-Roebuck (runner-up in 2010) and Connie Ross. Other LPGA Tour veterans in pursuit of the $35,000 purse include Sue Ertl, Cindy Figg-Currier and Jean Bartholomew. Top amateurs will compete as well, including 2010 Michigan Women’s Amateur Champion, Natalie Brehm.

Since moving to Crystal Mountain in 2003, the Michigan Women’s Open has seen its fair share of drama on the 18th hole of the Mountain Ridge course. The tournament has been decided on the final hole in six of the eight years it’s been hosted at Crystal beginning with an historic victory by Breanne Hall:

2003 – Breanne Hall had the lead when she hit double bogey on the final hole of regulation resulting in sudden death playoff with Allison Fouch. Hall bounced back with a birdie on the same hole to become the first amateur to win the Open.
2004 – Just a year after becoming the first female to win the Michigan PGA Tournament of Champions, Stacy Snider birdied the final hole of regulation and the first hole of a sudden death playoff to defeat Amy Malinaric for the championship.
2007 – Lisa Strom held a one-stroke lead on the final hole of regulation with Leanna Wicks inside of ten feet for birdie. From 66 yards, Strom holed-out an eagle to seal her first Open victory.
2008 – Trailing by as many as two strokes in the final round, Connie Ross pulled even with Elaine Crosby on the sixteenth taking the lead on the very next hole. The victory marked an amazing comeback as it was her first tournament in over five years.
2009 – A fight between the Green & White, Michigan State alum Allison Fouch battled for 18 holes with Laura Kueny of Michigan State who would later be named 2010 Big Ten Player of the Year. Fouch rallied from a stroke down at the start of the day to win with a clutch birdie putt on the final hole of regulation.
2010 – Lisa Strom became just the third player in history to win multiple Michigan Women’s Open titles when she birdied 18 to edge three-time champion Suzanne Green-Roebuck.

Celebrating over 50 years, Crystal is a family-owned, four-season resort with 36 holes of championship golf, one of GOLF Magazine’s Top 25 Golf Schools in America, one-acre outdoor water playground, the Crystal Coaster, Michigan’s only alpine slide, lodging, dining, skiing, IACC-approved conference facilities and the award-winning Crystal Spa.



Please Share