Scott Hebert Goes for Five in a Row at Hawk Hollow

Scott HebertEAST LANSING – Scott Hebert will attempt to win his fifth consecutive Michigan PGA Championship at the Hawk Hollow Properties in East Lansing August 23-25. Hebert has been the only winner since the event moved to the Eagle Eye and Hawk Hollow golf courses in 2006. He set the course record at Eagle Eye, 8-under 64, last year and coasted to a 13-stroke win.

“Scott is our section’s most celebrated player,” Michigan PGA Executive Director Kevin Helm said. “He just returned home from playing in the PGA Championship at Whistling Straights. He’s played in a number of PGA Tour events this year and it was just announced he’ll be inducted into the Upper Peninsula Sports Hall of Fame next year.” 

Hebert’s four titles tie him with Grand Rapids’ Lynn Janson. Legendary golfers Chick Harbert (six-championships) and Al Watrous (nine-championships) are the only players in the history of this tournament with more wins.

The 54-hole event features a field of 161 players, which will be cut  to the low 70 positions and ties after the second round. The purse is $65,000 with $7,000 going to the winner.

“We’re proud to host the championship and house the Michigan PGA headquarters on our complex” Alex Coss, general manager of Hawk Hollow Properties said. “PGA Professionals add so much to the game of the golf on the consumer level. It’s a privilege to have them playing here and receive such positive response to the quality of our courses.”

Past champions in the 2010 field include, two-time winners Brian Cairns from Fox Hills Golf Course, Steve Brady from Oakland Hills Country Club and Barry Redmond of Boyne Highlands. Other past champions include, John Traub of TNT Enterprises. Tom Harding of Kendall Academy of Golf, Joe Pollack of Boulder Creek Golf Club, Bob Makoski of Grosse Ile CC and Randy Erskine of Great Oaks Country Club.

The Michigan PGA Championship is open to the public. There is no admission charge. Players will be on both courses between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. during the first two rounds. The final round is will be played at Eagle Eye beginning at 8 a.m. and concluding around 2 p.m.


Please Share