Intriguing Pairings for Greg Norman's Shark Shootout

The 2011 Shark ShootoutTournament host Greg Norman has matched a collection of golf's most successful individual talents into spectacular two-man teams as the 22nd annual Shark Shootout returns for a 10th time to Tiburón Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples Dec. 8-12.

Norman recently announced the 24-man field that features 10 Ryder Cup participants and eight players with a PGA Tour victory this season. As a group, they have amassed 156 total career victories, including eight major championships from seven different players.

Stewart Cink, has withdrawn due to a scheduling issue and will be replaced by Fred Funk, who was victorious at the 2010 JELD-WEN Tradition and holds the fifth position in the Charles Schwab Cup Championship standings.

"The balance of international stars, American players, rookies, young guys and veterans this year is ideal," Norman said. "And each of these guys enjoys the camaraderie of team golf, which makes for an abundance of partner options. The puzzle came together quite easily."

Throughout its history, this event has included many of golf's greatest players. The Shark Shootout, widely regarded as the PGA Tour's premier postseason event, will once again feature a modified alternate-shot format during the first round, a better ball Saturday and a final-round scramble. This year, Golf Channel will televise the first-round action and NBC will broadcast the weekend competition.

Southwest Florida sports fans will be joined by an international television audience to watch a collection of talent and character as golf's best battle it out for three days - all while raising funds and awareness to benefit CureSearch for Children's Cancer and other worthy charities.

"From top to bottom, this is without a doubt one of the strongest fields The Shark Shootout has ever assembled," Norman said. "I can't wait to tee it up alongside Matt (Kuchar). I've enjoyed watching him play since his magical week at Augusta a dozen years ago, and I just hope I can help him cap off a season with one more victory."

The Teams

Matt Kuchar-Greg Norman                       
Darren Clarke-Graeme McDowell
Jerry Kelly-Steve Stricker                         
David Duval-Davis Love III
Justin Leonard-Scott Verplank                
Jason Day-Rory Sabbatini
Mark Calcavecchia-Jeff Overton             
K.J. Choi-Mike Weir
Dustin Johnson-Ian Poulter                      
Fred Funk-Kenny Perry
Chris DiMarco-Anthony Kim                    
Rickie Fowler-Bubba Watson

Tickets for The Shark Shootout are now on sale. Orders can be placed several ways - calling 888-66-SHARK, online at or by visiting the PGA Tour Superstore in Naples, Lumpy's in Fort Myers or The Golf Shop at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples.

For the latest Shark Shootout news and information, please visit the official tournament website at


Please Share