Stars Line Up for 22nd Shark Shootout

Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker return as defending championsTournament host Greg Norman has announced the field for the 22nd edition of The Shark Shootout which returns for the 10th consecutive year to Tiburón Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples Dec. 8-12.

As a whole, the field for this year’s Shootout has enjoyed tremendous success this season through individual efforts and Ryder Cup performances. As a group, they have amassed 154 total career victories.

“This might be the most dynamic field we have ever had,” said Norman. “To a man, these players have brought excitement to the game of golf throughout the season and throughout their careers. I am excited for the fans and our international television audience because I expect they will see some great golf come December.”

The 24 players will be paired into 12, two-man teams. Those pairings will be announced in a few weeks. The team of Steve Stricker & Jerry Kelly returns as defending champions.

For starters, 11 players coming to Naples participated in the Ryder Cup two weeks ago—Stewart Cink, Darren Clarke, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Davis Love III, Graeme McDowell, Jeff Overton, Ian Poulter, Stricker and Bubba Watson.

McDowell’s singles win clinched victory for the European team while Fowler’s performance in the final four holes of his singles match ignited a near-comeback by the United States team.

Eight players have won on the PGA Tour so far this year. Johnson and Stricker are two-time winners while Jason Day, Anthony Kim, Kuchar, McDowell, Poulter and Watson have each earned one title.

Another eight competitors have won major championship titles—David Duval, Mark Calcavecchia, Cink, Justin Leonard, Love, McDowell, Norman and Mike Weir.

Six competitors, led by Stricker (No. 5), are among the top 20 on the Official World Golf Ranking. Kuchar is currently 11th, Johnson 12th, McDowell 13th, Poulter 15th and Kim 20th. This is an impressive percentage given the limited field of 24 players.

On the PGA Tour’s Career Money List, six of the players coming to Naples are among the top 12 led by Love and followed by Kenny Perry, Leonard, Cink, Stricker and Weir.

In total, five individuals will be competing in their first Shark Shootout: K.J. Choi, Clarke, Day, Overton and Weir. Also, Duval and Love will be making their first appearance in Naples.

Throughout its history, the Shootout has included many of golf’s greatest players.

The Shark Shootout, widely regarded as the PGA Tour’s premier postseason event, will once again feature a modified alternate-shot format during the first round, a better ball Saturday and a final-round scramble. This year, Golf Channel will televise Friday and NBC will broadcast the weekend competition.

Current List of Participating Professionals

Mark Calcavecchia              
Dustin Johnson                                 
Jeff Overton
K.J. Choi                               
Jerry Kelly                                         
Kenny Perry
Stewart Cink                         
Anthony Kim                                     
Ian Poulter
Darren Clarke                      
Matt Kuchar                                      
Rory Sabbatini
Jason Day                             
Justin Leonard                                  
Steve Stricker
Chris DiMarco                      
Davis Love III                        
Scott Verplank
David Duval                          
Graeme McDowell                           
Bubba Watson
Rickie Fowler                       
Greg Norman                        
Mike Weir


Please Share