East Central Chapter Honor Award Winners

Over 100 individual PGA Professionals as well as community leaders attend the East Central Chapter’s Inaugural Award Ceremony and Banquet at Timacuan Golf and Country Club in Lake Mary, Florida. 

Honored were 11 individuals for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the game of golf, the chapter, as well as the North Florida PGA Section. 2008 ECC/NFPGA Award Winners

Left to right:
Chip Koehlke – Teacher of the Year - Director of Instruction, Faldo Institute
Peter Watzka – Amateur of the Year - Vice President, Ritz Carlton Development Co.
Tony Austin – Bill Strausbaugh Award - Professional Golfer’s Career College
Mike Warobick – Junior Golf Leader Award - US1 Golf Center
Patrick Dill – Resort Merchandiser of the Year - Grande Lakes/Ritz Carlton Golf Club
Peter Leveille – Sales Rep of the Year – Ahead Head Gear Co
Tony Johnson – Professional of the Year – Timacuan Golf Club
Matt Payne – Public Merchandiser of the Year – Victoria Hills GC
Bill Sellers – Private Merchandiser of the Year – Country Club of Orlando
Kevin Weickel – Horton Smith Award – Disney Worldwide Services, Inc.
Not pictured:
Carl McNeill – Assistant Professional of the Year – Country Club of Orlando

Topping the list of individual award winners was Tony Johnson, General Manager of Timacuan, as the 2008 PGA Professional of the Year. “I am honored to accept this award,” stated Johnson. “There are many deserving professionals that are deserving of this award and I am truly honored to have been chosen as this year’s recipient. I could not have earned this honor without the daily support I receive from my family and staff.”

In past years, the chapter has had a low-key presentation of awards during one of their regularly scheduled meetings. “This year, we decided to do something different that signifies the winners’ accomplishments, as well as showcase their achievements,” says Bob Reed, President of the East Central PGA Chapter. “Each year, our chapter has very deserving men and women committed to their profession. This year’s winners also demonstrate that being a PGA Professional means more than being a golfer. They are dedicated fathers, husbands, and community volunteers.  We are proud of our Chapter members and our award winners for their efforts as professionals as well as their commitment to be community leaders.” 

Sponsoring the event was Nike Golf, and its local representative, Kenny Hobbs. “We enjoyed being apart of such a great ceremony bringing recognition to such a talented group of PGA golf professionals” 

The 2008 East Central PGA Chapter Award Winners are:

Golf Professional of the Year – Tony Johnson, Timacuan Golf Club
Assistant Professional of the Year – Carl McNeill, Country Club of Orlando
Horton Smith Award – Kevin Weickel, Disney World Wide Services, Inc.
Bill Strausbaugh Award – Tony Austin, Professional Golfer’s Career College
Teacher of the Year – Chip Koehlke, Faldo Golf Institute
Junior Golf Leader – Mike Warobick, US 1 Golf Center
Merchandiser of the Year (Public) – Matt Payne, Victoria Hills Golf Club
Merchandiser of the Year (Private) – Bill Sellers, Country Club of Orlando
Merchandiser of the Year (Resort) – Patrick Dill, Grande Lakes/Ritz Carlton Golf Club
Sales Representative of the Year – Pete Leveille, Ahead Head Gear
Amateur of the Year – Peter Watzka, Ritz Carlton Development Co.


Please Share