Florida State Golf Association Announces 2010 Championship Schedule

2009 Florida Open champion Thomas MurraryEntries are now open for the 2010 Florida State Golf Association tournament schedule. The FSGA conducts 25 state championships, seven of which require qualifying. Volunteers are welcome to sign up online for tournaments in their area.
The 49th Senior Championship will be played at Southern Hills Plantation Golf Club in Brooksville, April 13-15. Players can qualify between March 15 and March 29 at eight different locations. Southern Hills has hosted the second stage of the PGA Tour's Q-School for the past two years.

The 93rd Amateur Championship will be held June 24-27 at Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Club & Lodge and Orange Tree Golf Club, in Orlando. Fifteen qualifiers for the event will be held throughout the state between May 23 and June 8. Started in 1914, the FSGA State Amateur is the oldest continuous sporting event in the state and it is the largest amateur event in Florida. The Bay Hill Club & Lodge is the host course for the PGA Tour's Arnold Palmer Invitational.

The 56th Boy's Junior Championship will be held at Grand Cypress Golf Club in Orlando, July 6-8. Qualifiers will be held at six locations between June 14 and June 21. Grand Cypress has hosted countless tournaments throughout the years including the Greg Norman Shark Shoot-out.

The Ocean Course at Hammock Beach and The Conservatory Course at Hammock Beach in Palm Coast will host the 61st Four-Ball Championship on July 10-11. Eight qualifiers are available between June 14 and July 1. With six holes that put the players right on the very edge of the Atlantic Ocean, the Ocean Course has built a loyal following over the years, and The Conservatory Course has played host to the PGA Tour's Ginn sur Mer Classic in 2008.

Florida State Golf AssociationThe Florida Open will be hosted by Innisbrook Resort & Golf Club in Palm Harbor, July 16-18. Florida PGA Section Professionals and top amateurs can qualify for the championship tournament at 16 local qualifiers between June 28 and July 9. Entries for this Championship will open Feb. 1. The Copperhead Course plays host to the PGA Tour's Transitions Championship in March. Past Florida Open champions include Gardner Dickenson, Don Blispinghoff, J.C. Goosie, Bob Murphy, Gary Koch, Eddie Pearce, Charles Owens, Larry Mowry, Bruce Fleisher, Donnie Hammond, John Huston, Bart Bryant and Dudley Hart.

The 19th Amateur Match Play Championship will be held at the Ritz-Carlton Golf Club, in Jupiter on Aug. 5-8.  Players can qualify at seven locations between July 13 and 22. The 18-hole, Nicklaus Signature Golf Course is the first course designed for The Ritz-Carlton and features a 7,224-yard challenge.

The 29th Mid-Amateur Championship will be played at Timuquana Country Club in Jacksonville, Oct. 7-10. Nine qualifiers will be held between Sept. 9-20. During the early years of the club, many professional open tournaments were held at Timuquana, at which all of the outstanding golfers of the time participated, including Bobby Jones, Walter Hagen, Gene Sarazen, Tommy Armour, Leo Diegel, Henry Cotton, Bobby Cruikshanks, Horton Smith, Jock Hutchison and Bob McDonald.

A few of the trophies they'll be playing for in 2010
Organized in 1913, the Florida State Golf Association is a not-for-profit organization that governs amateur golf in the state of Florida. In addition to conducting 25 championships for amateur golfers in the state, the FSGA is responsible for more than 40 qualifying tournaments for USGA National Championships and the Florida Junior Tour. The FSGA also maintains the USGA Handicap System, performs course ratings throughout Florida and assists in junior programs and scholarships.
Please check out our full tournament schedule under championships at www.fsga.org. Volunteers can sign up at Volunteer Central.


Please Share