Sunshine Spring ClassicWalkabout Golf and Country Club is readying for the inaugural Sunshine Spring Classic, a Division I women's college golf tournament to be played March 10-12, 2011.

The University of Detroit Mercy will serve as the host institution, with assistance from co-host Seminole State College of Florida. Data Consulting Group, a technology and business consulting firm based in Detroit, is the presenting sponsor.

A variety of schools east of the Mississippi River will make the trek to the Titusville area, as the 36-hole event features 16 teams (96 total golfers) representing 12 conferences from the Northeast, Midwest and Southeast United States.

Three Florida schools – Seminole State, Weber International and Florida Tech – will compete against NCAA Division I programs, two of which – Detroit and Jackson State – won their conferences and advanced to the NCAA postseason tournament in 2010.

“The reception for our first Sunshine Spring Classic has been tremendously positive,” Tournament Director Kyle Stefan said. “Not only do we have a full field, but the support from the golf course, from the local businesses, hotels and community has been outstanding. We are looking forward to some great competition and a first-class event on a very challenging golf course.”

The teams will arrive for a practice round on Thursday, March 10. Tournament play begins on Friday, March 11 with tee times starting at 7:30 a.m. off No. 1 and No. 10 tees. The final round of competition takes place Saturday, March 12 with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start.

Walkabout will play to a par-72 at 6,102 yards for the tournament. The course was designed by Dye Designs and former LPGA Tour standout Jan Stephenson, and is constantly ranked highly among Florida and Orlando-area courses because of its conditioning and layout.

“We are excited to host a major college tournament,” Walkabout Director of Golf Brant Craddock said. “The course is in great shape, and we have been preparing for the event for almost a year. We are anticipating a good number of spectators from the local golf community.”

Results following play each day will be available on Golfstat.com, as well as on www.detroittitans.com.


Thursday, March 10

10 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.     Registration at Walkabout Golf & Country Club
                                 Practice Rounds off No. 1 tee

Friday, March 11

6:30 a.m.                   Golf Course / Practice Facilities Open

7:30 – 9:45 a.m.         First Round of Competition – Tee Times off #1 and #10 tees

6 p.m. (approx.)         Results and Second Round Pairings released upon conclusion of play

Saturday, March 12

6:30 a.m.                  Golf Course / Practice Facilities Open

8:30 a.m.                  Second Round of Competition – Shotgun Start

2 p.m. (approx.)        Awards Presentation upon conclusion of play


    Team                                       Conference            Golfstat Rank
                                                                                                          (As of 2.21.11)

    Albany Great Danes                    MAAC                       227
    Creighton Bluejays                      Missouri Valley            218
    Detroit Titans                            Horizon League          181
    Florida Tech Panthers                 Division II                   39
    Indiana State Sycamores             Missouri Valley            215
    IPFW Mastadons                        Summit League          244
    IUPUI Jaguars                            Summit League          187
    Jackson State Tigers                   SWAC                      224
    Lehigh Mountain Hawks               ECAC                        N/A
    Loyola Chicago Ramblers              Horizon League          203
    Radford Highlanders                    Big South                  171
    Seminole State Raiders                Junior College             N/A
    SIU-Edwardsville Cougars              Ohio Valley                211
    St. Francis – Illinois                      NAIA                          41
    Weber International                    NAIA                          51
    Youngstown State Penguins        Horizon League           183

    Florida Schools (3):         Seminole State, Florida Tech, Weber International

    2010 NCAA Postseason (2):     Detroit, Jackson State


Please Share