Field announced for Shark's Shootout

Franklin Templeton Shootout Tournament in Naples in December is one of the nicest events of the year on the PGA calendar. Greg Norman has announced the field for the 23rd edition of the event, which returns for the 11th consecutive year to Tiburón Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples, Dec. 7-11.

 The field for this year's Franklin Templeton Shootout has enjoyed tremendous success this season. Twelve players have won a total of 15 titles so far. Nine of those individuals have won a total of 12 times on the PGA TOUR led by multiple winners Steve Stricker, Keegan Bradley and Webb Simpson. Three have earned titles on the Champions Tour. In addition, Rickie Fowler is the most recent winner with his victory on the OneAsia circuit.

"It has always been my intention to bring a good mix of players together for friendly competition and to enjoy each other's company for a week," said Norman. "We have accomplished that again this year. I predict another wonderful event for all involved including the fans and an international television audience."

The 24 players will be paired into 12 two-man teams. Those pairings will be announced in a few weeks.

In addition to the numerous individual victories so far this year, the field has earned a total of 137 PGA TOUR wins plus numerous worldwide titles through the years. There are also six major championship winners playing who have a total of nine major wins to their credit.

That group is led by current PGA Champion Bradley who, in his first major championship appearance, won in Atlanta this summer. Other major champions include Norman, Mark Calcavecchia, Stewart Cink, Nick Price and Justin Leonard. Additionally, Fred Funk, winner of two Champions Tour majors returns as does multiple champion on both Tours Kenny Perry.

Five competitors, led by Stricker (No. 4), are among the top 30 in the Official World Golf Rankings. Simpson is No.12 followed by Fowler (No. 24), Bradley (No. 26) and Brandt Snedeker (No. 27).

Throughout its history, the Franklin Templeton Shootout has included many of golf's greatest players. As a premier PGA TOUR post-season event, the Franklin Templeton Shootout will once again feature a modified alternate-shot format during the first round, a better ball Saturday and a final-round scramble. This year, Golf Channel will televise Friday and NBC will broadcast the weekend competition.

For the latest Franklin Templeton Shootout news and information, please visit the official tournament website at .
Here is the list of participating pros:
Keegan Bradley
Charles Howell III
Nick Price
Mark Calcavecchia
Fredrik Jacobson
Rory Sabbatini
Stewart Cink
Jerry Kelly
Webb Simpson
Chris DiMarco
Anthony Kim
Brandt Snedeker
Jason Dufner
Justin Leonard
Steve Stricker
Rickie Fowler
Greg Norman
Brendan Steele
Fred Funk
Sean O'Hair
Jhonattan Vegas
J.B. Holmes
Kenny Perry
Camilo Villegas

Tickets for the Franklin Templeton Shootout are now on sale. Orders can be placed several ways - calling 888-66-SHARK, online at or by visiting the PGA TOUR Superstore in Naples, Lumpy's in Fort Myers and The Golf Shop at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples.


Please Share