Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am's Amy Hawk Wins 2011 Tampa Bay's Distinguished Sports Business Woman

Amy HawkOutback Steakhouse Pro-Am's Amy Hawk Wins 2011 Tampa Bay's Distinguished Sports Business Woman of the Year

Tournament Director of Eight Years Takes Home Prestigious Award

TAMPA, FLA., - Today, the Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am announced that Tournament Director Amy Hawk was named the 2011 Distinguished Sports Business Woman of the Year by Tampa Bay's Sports Commission. The Tampa Bay Sports Commission hosted the inaugural Tampa Bay Sneaker Soiree: A Celebration of Excellence in Sports Business, Thursday, June 2 at TPepin's Hospitality Centre.

I’m thrilled to receive this esteemed award in a category with such an established group of women,” said Amy Hawk, tournament director of the Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am. “Tampa Bay is such a thriving sports town and to be recognized with such prominent sports leaders in our community is a true honor.”

This prestigious award recognizes executive women in Tampa Bay who have made a significant impact in the community and sports arena. Hawk was honored for her pioneering career in creating opportunities for women in sports as well as her innovative leadership which has led the Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am to becoming an award-winning event on the Champions Tour and in the Tampa Bay community


Tampa Bay Sports Commission Sneaker Soiree winners:

Entrepreneurial Player of the Year – Jeff Faine, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Philanthropic Player of the Year – Vinny Lecavalier, Tampa Bay Lightning

Season Ticket Marketing/Advertising Campaign of the Year – All In (Tampa Bay Lightning)

Sports Facility of the Year – St. Pete Times Forum

Individual Game Promotion of the Year – Military Appreciation/Soldier Reunion (Tampa Bay Buccaneers)

Sponsorship Activation of the Year – Tampa Bay Rays Summer Concert Series presented by Hess Express

Amateur/Collegiate Special Event of the Year – Eighth annual Tampa Bay International Dragon Boat Races

Professional Special Event of the Year – Transitions Championship

Web Site of the Year – RaysBaseball.com

Foundation of the Year – Glazer Family Foundation

Young Executive of the Year – Andrew Friedman, Rays

Community Sports Leader of the Year – Judy Genshaft, University of South Florida

Executive of the Year – Steve Yzerman, Tampa Bay Lightning

Moral Courage Award – Dwayne Schintzius, former University of Florida and NBA player who beat leukemia.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Dick Vitale, ESPN broadcaster and tireless supporter of charitable and athletic causes in the Tampa Bay area.


About the Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am & Tournament Format

The Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am won the 2010 Tournament Business Affairs Award. The Champions Tour Tournament Business Affairs department rates and grades several different categories that determine what makes a successful event, and the Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am, played for the 19th consecutive year at TPC Tampa Bay in Lutz, Florida, earned the highest overall score.

In its first seven years, the Tampa Bay Pro-Am Foundation, Inc. has raised over $3.7 million through corporate sponsorships and other charitable donations.  Since its inception 23 years ago, this tournament has contributed over $8.7 million to Tampa Bay area charities. The 2011 recipients are The Special Operations Warrior Foundation and Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research (with contributions going to the Parkinson’s Progression Markers Initiative at University of South Florida).

The Tampa Bay Pro-Am Foundation, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) not for profit organization founded in October of 2003.

Bernhard Langer was crowned the 2010 Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am champion after finishing 36-holes.

The 2011 Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am will be played at TPC Tampa Bay in Lutz, FL, April 11-17 will be broadcast on the Golf Channel (Friday, 4/15) and NBC Sports (Saturday, 4/16 and Sunday, 4/17).

About the Champions Tour

Collectively, the Champions Tour has the most recognizable and accomplished players in the game with many of its 29 members of the World Golf Hall of Fame competing regularly in its events and numerous other major championship winners among its members. The Champions Tour is a membership organization of professional golfers age 50 and older. Conceived in 1980 as the Senior PGA Tour, it started with just four events and purses totaling $475,000. Points earned in official Charles Schwab Cup events in 2011 will determine the Charles Schwab Cup champion, the season-long competition designed to recognize the Champions Tour’s leading player. The Champions Tour's primary purpose is to provide financial opportunities for its players, entertain and inspire its fans, deliver substantial value to its partners, create

outlets for volunteers to give back, protect the integrity of the game and generate significant charitable and economic impact in communities in which it plays. In 2010, tournaments on all three Tours (PGA TOUR, Champions Tour and Nationwide Tour) generated $120 million for local charitable organizations, bringing the TOUR’s all-time total of charitable contributions to more than $1.6 billion. The Commissioner of the PGA TOUR is Tim Finchem. Mike Stevens is President of the Champions Tour. The PGA TOUR’s website is www.pgatour.com, the No. 1 site in golf, and the organization is headquartered in Ponte Vedra Beach, FL.


Please Share